Remove or Delete Briefcase from Windows New Menu

»»»Remove or Delete Briefcase from Windows New Menu

Older generation of Windows users (those from Windows 9x era till Windows XP) will probably remember Briefcase, which is a early utility to let users sync files between two computers. Briefcase is included in Windows Vista and Windows 7 for people who have used it in earlier versions of Windows and want to continue using it to sync their files. For Windows Vista or Windows 7 users who don’t use Briefcase, it can be removed.

Windows 7 and Windows Vista does not activate Briefcase by default. Users who want to use Briefcase can create new Briefcase to place files to be synced into it by right click on a blank area in the folder window or desktop, and then point to “New”, and then click “Briefcase”, or from “File” menu of classic menu bar (showable by pressing Alt).

Windows Briefcase

To remove or delete Briefcase from the list of “New” menu items, run Registry Editor (regedit), and navigate to the following registry key:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Briefcase

Under the Briefcase registry key, there is a subkey named “ShellNew”. Delete the ShellNew sub-key away with all its values will make Briefcase disappear from “New” item list.

By |2017-05-01T01:31:22+00:00May 1st, 2017|Categories: Windows|Tags: , , |0 Comments

About the Author:

LK is a technology writer for Tech Journey with background of system and network administrator. He has be documenting his experiences in digital and technology world for over 15 years.Connect with LK through Tech Journey on Facebook, Twitter or Google+.